Self Injury Awareness Day Project

In response to this video, I am writing a blog to make it easier for everyone to participate in the Self Injury Awareness Day Project. Self Injury Awareness Day is March 1, so the clock is ticking! The deadline for submissions is one week from now, February 27th.

My thought, in case you didn’t see the video; is that more people can make more of an impact and spread even more awareness than me just sitting in my living room making a YouTube video – I do that all the time anyway!

I want this to be a collaboration between me and you. If you have something to say, a story to tell, something you’ve always wanted to show the world… Then I’d love to help get your message out there.

For one week, I will be taking submissions to be compiled into a video project that will debut on my YouTube channel and all over various social networking sites on March 1, Self Injury Awareness Day.

What can you submit?

That’s up to you! Anything that will work in a video montage.

  • You can record a 1-2 minute video of yourself telling your story, reading something you wrote, singing, etc (or a longer video and I will cut it down at my discretion).
  • You can send any artwork you’ve done relating to self-injury or recovery
  • You can send any poetry, songs or essays (etc) you’ve written yourself
  • You can send photos of tattoos, things you’ve drawn on your arms or body (ie: love on your arms, butterflies or inspiring words)

You can send me any submissions directly to xsullengirlx@ymail.com (NOTE: This is not my primary e-mail address and any e-mails that are not for this project will be deleted! Thank you for your understanding! I just had to have somewhere for you to send your stuff!)

Again, your DEADLINE is Monday, February 27th.

You can send your work as an attachment or as a link. If you need to upload your content to a private hosting site, a good free one to use is www.mediafire.com – just e-mail the link to me.

PLEASE INCLUDE YOUR NAME AND/OR YOUTUBE USERNAME OR NICKNAME OF YOUR CHOICE IF YOU WANT CREDIT. IF YOU DO NOT WANT CREDITED, YOU WILL BE LEFT ANONYMOUS. IF YOU WANT CREDITED, PLEASE SEND ME EXACTLY THE INFORMATION YOU WANT INCLUDED SO I CAN CREDIT YOU PROPERLY!

If you have any questions on being credited or on submissions, you can leave me comments on this blog, on youtube, or you can send them to the email I specified – the subject needs to be something along the lines of “PROJECT QUESTION”.

I need your permission to use your work, so I will e-mail you a form to complete and send back to me if I use your content. I will try to use everyone’s content, depending on how many submissions I get.

*Please note that anything you send in has the possibility to be shared with the world, and by sending it to me for this video project, you are giving me the right to reproduce, distribute and modify the work as needed for the project. You are also hereby granting me permission to distribute the work publicly and understand that this is not limited to solely YouTube, but also Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, Google and any media outlets that may re-post the content in full from my YouTube channel.

Thanks so much for participating, together we can make a difference! I know it might sound complicated, but I have to post specific information and rules if I am going to use your content in a legal and fair way. But basically, what I am trying to say is… Let’s make a compilation video for Self Injury Awareness Day and tell our stories to the world! Send me your thoughts, feelings, expressions, be creative and don’t worry about whether it’s good enough… Your submissions will help so many people, so keep that in mind… and have fun!

xoxoxo

3 thoughts on “Self Injury Awareness Day Project

    • Im so glad you’re willing to help! But the videos you send to me should be sent directly (upload them at a different private source like mediafire.com) so I can use them in the video project. If you want to make a video directly for your channel, you can do a video response on March 1 to the SI Awareness Day video I post then. Its up to you my dear! 🙂

Leave a Reply

