Haircut Discussion and Poll!

I have been debating cutting my hair for a while now, and the time has finally come… I have a haircut appointment tomorrow (January 23)! I am so nervous! It’s strange to me that I’m so nervous about a haircut though, because I’ve always been really adventurous with my hair. In the past, I never gave cutting or dying my hair a second thought, because IT’S JUST HAIR, IT GROWS BACK! But over the past 3 years or so, my hair has grown longer and longer, mainly due to me not being able to afford to go to the salon. I think in that time, I became more self-conscious and ended up using my long hair as a security blanket and hiding behind it.

Now, my hair literally reaches down to my butt, it’s longer than it’s ever been – and I keep having second thoughts about cutting it off. But none of those thoughts have anything to do with me loving my long hair, not really. I keep thinking “If I cut my hair, will I look fatter? will my face look fatter? Will I have to wear more makeup to disguise any flaws?” and “I don’t want people to see my new haircut and think: damn, she looked better before, she shouldn’t have cut her hair!” — I don’t know why I am focusing so much on the superficial and letting my body image issues make this decision harder for me! It really boils down to my insecurities and the fact that I am using my long hair as a mask.

However, logically I know that I need to cut my hair. About 8 or 9 months ago, I shaved the side of my head because I needed a change, then I dyed my hair literally every color of the rainbow, and none of that phased me. So this shouldn’t phase me either. My side-shave has grown out to the point it doesn’t look that great with my long hair, and I want to grow it out but it would be easier to do that with shorter hair to grow out along with it. My long hair isn’t healthy, it’s not in great condition and it gets tangled all the time. All signs point to cutting it being a good idea… so I am going to try and overcome my fears and insecurities and just take the plunge, chop my hair off and stop hiding behind it – face my issues about myself and my body instead of just hiding behind it with a hair cape!

It’s just hair. It grows back! I’ve had shorter hair for longer periods of time than I have had long hair… and if I cut it and miss long hair, I can just grow it out again! My hair grows super fast. It’s going to be okay.

With that being said…. I DO value your guys’ opinions because YOU have to stare at my face when you watch my videos! YOU guys know how I look more than I do, because you spend a lot more time looking at my face than I do staring in a mirror. Since my perception is so foggy, I wanted to see if you had a preference about what YOU think would look more flattering on me, my face shape, etc. I want to make it clear that I am not asking you guys to make the decision for me – ultimately I will do what is best for ME and what I want, but I am curious as to what you think! After the photo set, there is going to be a poll, i’d appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion with me! 🙂

This what my long hair looks like now: 

 me long hair collage

This is the short haircut I want:

alysha nett hair collage

This is my long hair with the current shaved side, cropped to emulate the short hair cut above (to give an idea of what it would look like on me)

me sideshave collage

This is me with short hair (from aprox 2004 – 2007)

Me short hair collage

And finally… The other style I am debating is a mid-length “messy” wavy look. I really love this look and keep going back and forth between the short haircut and this one! (although, the short cut would grow out to this… haha)

mid length hair collage

Now that you have seen all of the photos of me, and the photos of the haircuts I am debating (short asymmetrical bob with shaved side – or messy mid-length layered cut) I am wondering which haircut YOU like the best!

I know, I know, most people say “just do whatever YOU like best, who cares what anyone else thinks!” and if you know me, you have to know I ALWAYS do whatever I want, regardless of what it is 😉 However, I am interested in what you guys like too, it might help sway my decision – because I AM cutting my hair, but I am on the fence as to which haircut I like most!

So…. if you can take a moment, please vote in this poll and let me know what you think (or leave a comment on my fb post, or both!)

I will of course let everyone know via FB and YouTube what my new hair looks like! I’m even going to do a hair timeline video of all my hairstyles and colors throughout the past decade on YouTube! Thank you all your your support and for your input on all of my hairstyles and colors throughout the years! You’re the best!

Leave a Reply

